top of page

Personalise your hashtags...

So last week I began this blog and I got a question about how to make your own personal hashtags. If this has been said somewhere else, then here I'll just give my method/ opinion/ whatever. But, it is not truly making them, as much as it is, using the set system of discovery to your advantage. This doesn't even need to be just a book; photographers, artists, all sorts of creatives - anyone can do it and benefit.

We've all seen TV shows, elections, special days, truly anything becoming hashtags. Not only on Twitter, but Instagram, Google+ and even Facebook. (Refrain though from using it on the last two social media sites, as it truly is annoying seeing them there.)

The point of these things were mostly annoying when they first began, but then even I began using them when I saw the benefits.

http://searchenginewatch.com/IMG/186/263186/twitter-hashtag-cloud.jpg?1429591299

How do you go about making it your own?

Using one of my books as an example, you can go do the same thing with what you want to 'hashtag'.

Start with your title/name of the thing, (mine is 'The Hunter and Little Fox') but to save characters, you can remove the 'unnecessary parts' if you want to.

Ex. (The) Hunter (and) Little Fox = Hunter Little Fox = #HunterLittleFox

It still gives the same meaning, but I gained six characters to rather hashtag a RT group or give the genre in a hashtag, as those are precious.

Now, all the results will go to 'your' hashtag. Remember that with titles that are more common, the tag will sometimes connect words not in hashtags, with the results page. The benefit with this though, is that if the book/product becomes popular, others will use this tag or just the words and connect to the results page.

(Check them once in a while if you are the only one using the hashtag, as some people might have helped you with a little exposure, then you can thank them - don't automate it)

Here is an example of another hashtag I have, that actual shows how great this works:

*This is not a representation of these users, it was not authorized, it is purely informational use.*

What's next?

This is the fun part; whether series or a standalone book (any product), you use this hashtag in the tweets related to the book/product, because you get connectivity between all posts that are of a similar subject. What is important to reap the full benefits, is to connect that hashtag to your profile.

Mine looks a little cluttered, but I've only tagged series and standalones, while still hastagging the separate book in the series, and checking their result pages once in a blue moon.

Ex. The hashtag 'Sparks and Sparrows' is used in the picture below, but the book in the series was Requisite, so it stays connected to my hashtag. As the book's title is a bit more common, the series title distinguishes it from other tweets with the requisite tag.

In the end, you'd have to go and try this on your own. Make it work for yourself. This has worked for me, but this is where I bid adieu and I hope this helps you.

If you'd like me to give you more personal guidelines, the CONNECT page is at your disposal.

One more thing regarding my 'blog' and last week's post;

Those who have asked me about having another site where they could follow this blog (if you could call it that); I like keeping my hens the same pen, so I'll be sticking with this one website. If you follow my FB page and message me that you'd like to know when I post new things, I'll friend you with my personal FB, and then you'll have a better chance seeing the posts.

I'm doing it this way, because I don't believe in automated things and newsletters/blog notifs and whatever you call it, are just impersonal. I'd rather connect with you and communicate directly.

See you on the other side!

Chevoque

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page