top of page

Author Quickie with...Timothy Bateson

NOTE:

These are the most random Qs I could find and come up with, but it is to show readers how authors are just like them or maybe so different that they are their own species. I have several awesome authors already lined up, but don't let it scare you to take part though. I'll be sharing with you all; the answers to the set questions and introduce you to some awesome people, and later, all of this will be used in a statistical type blog. Hopefully, we can keep this going for as long as possible and gain as many author's inputs to make this thing grow.


But it doesn't stop there:

~If you are an author who is interested in taking part in this silly game of mine; message, email or find me on a social network.

~If you are a reader and wanna take part; do the same and become part of the fun. (It'll be really cool to have your stats as well.)

~If you are none of the above...ag, shame. Anyway, if you are an artist, a doctor, a barista or just randomly ended up here; bring it on and we can have a little fun when the stats have grown.


Timothy Bateson

Morning person or night owl? Very definitely a night owl. I’ve always been more alert, and done my best writing in those dark hours between 6pm and 2am. If you want me awake and alert at 6am, you’d better have coffee by the pint, and an intravenous of caffeine on standby.

Coffee, tea or neither?

I’m going to be contrary and say BOTH! Coffee in the mornings to get me awake and functional, then teas later into the day depending on what kind of day I’ve had. Though I have to admit, my inner Brit will insist that anything that does not contain ONLY tea leaves is technically an infusion.

EBooks or printed books?

Ouch! Can I go with both again, because where good writing is concerned, I really don’t care how I access it. I love the portability of ebooks, and the fact that I can make notes and highlight sections directly. This is a great feature for those books I’m reading for fellow authors, and allows me to pass back notes to those I proofread for. However, part of me will always be attached to physical books, since I’ve worked in libraries and love the smell, feel, and emotional connection to hard copy. I’m one of those who will buy hardback copy of a book, take the dust jacket off, and put it aside until I’ve finished the book, just to preserve it.

Bookmark or dog-ear pages?

Dog-ear???? OUCH!!!! I’m wincing at even the thought… I have reference books that sometimes have more slips of paper in them than I remember the purpose of. Those books I use regularly are starting to get the stick-on index file tags instead. It places less strain on the bindings of paperbacks, and allows me to note what I bookmarked for easy reference. This is a trick I adopted from my files of story ideas, marketing notes, and blog post planning files.

Extrovert or Introvert?

Another hard question, so soon after the last one? Honestly? I work in retail, it’s hard to be an introvert when you deal with customer service all day. But there are days when I just retreat to my apartment, crack open a document, and hide within my stories. So probably fair to say that I’m a little of both.

Secret talents? If so, what are they?

Somehow not being Australian, despite the number of people who mistake my English accent for Australian, New Zealander, or South African…

If you had a superpower, what would it be?

Hmmmmm, does managing to avoid being promoted into a management position, despite being asked to take the training (several times in the last three years), count? If so, I already have one.

What is your biggest fear?

Okay, this is the easy one…. I’m TERRIFIED of spiders, regardless of size. An ex-girlfriend and I tried to watch Arachnophobia when it released in the cinemas, and both of us had major panic attacks and were almost carried out because of stress-induced asthma attacks. I guess when they say, “kill or cure” they really mean it.

You have three wishes, what are they?

1. A wife who not only accepts that sometimes I lose myself in a book, or my writing, but who supports my habit… I’m lucky enough to have this, since my wife is a fellow writer, my sounding board, and my inspiration.

2. To have handled, and/or flown, at least one of every breed of raptor (bird of prey) before I’m too old to hold one on the glove.

3. To become the inspiration behind someone else’s passion.

If you could forever break one habit, what would it be?

Right now, I’d have to say I’d love to break the habit of swiping my debit card on machines that I know will only take the chips. I work in retail, and have to train customers to do this, but seem to fall into thirty-year-old habits…I used to pull my wallet out; take my card out; swipe it; put the card back in the wallet, and pocket my wallet…Now, it’s all of the above, followed by: realize the machine didn’t read the swipe, and beeped to tell me to use the chip; pull my wallet out again; remove my card for a second time; put the chip in the machine; pocket my wallet; complete the payment, then realize my wallet is back in my pocket, while the machine I beeping to tell me to remove my card; pull my wallet out for a third time; put the card in the wallet and pocket my wallet again. I think a lot of people, here in the US, can sympathize with this one.

Your favourite:

Colour - Blue

Animal – Any bird of prey, it’s too hard to choose between them.

Mythical Creature – Phoenix

Author – Angela B. Chrysler, because she’s not only a great writer, but an inspiration to so many indie authors, and has a passion for helping others

Book – 1984, because it show the dark side of social conformity and social programming.

Movie – Alien… I still jump at the same points, even after all these years

Music Genre – Classic Rock

TV Show – Stargate SG-1, because everything they recovered had a purpose later on.

Place to Read – Anywhere, seriously.

Food - Bacon

Beverage (Alcoholic and/or Non-Alcoholic) – A good hoppy ale

Dessert – Vanilla Bean ice cream

Word – Procrastination, because I’m so good at it

Season – Any season that doesn’t have snow

Procrastination method – Filling out author interviews, or fiddling with website design

Turn on or turn off

Accents – Turn on

Surprises – Turn off

Shyness – Turn on

Quiet Places – Turn on

Loud Places – Turn off

Dimples – Turn on

Glasses – Turn on

Scars – Turn off

Games – Turn off

Comic Books – Turn on

What is your motto?

“Sometimes the biggest rewards come from doing things that terrify you”



See you on the other side!

Chevoque


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page