top of page

The 'Easter Eggs' in my books...(Updated 2 Nov 2015)


So many people have been asking how my 'Easter Eggs' work, what exactly are they and where do they find them. As you may know or have picked up on, I add something from the upcoming book and the previous book into each of my books (shorts not included). It is just a tiny way to show how my worlds are sort of connected or just simply hint at what my next book will be about.


Now before you say, but that is self-promoting within my books...well, maybe in a way it is, but as you'll see they are sometimes too subtle to even pick up on. And. Disney/Pixar's Easter Eggs are so damn cool, I thought why the hell not make it part of my signature?


I decided the easiest way to show the connections, will be by quoting each book, in the chronological order of their release, as that is the basis of how I went about creating these fun little buggers.


1. High Priestess of Pleasure - 11 February 2014

Next book hint:

"Then excuse me, Pharaoh, for not keeping track of everything," I said sarcastically as a moth flew into the candle's flame. Somehow, it had represented what was happening to me when the sizzling noise stopped. (Hieroglyph Three)

~Now the hint is utterly subtle, but the moth was supposed to be the reference to...





2. Acquiesce (Book One of Sparks and Sparrows) - 26 April 2014


Previous book hint:

"The bracelet belonged to a woman they called Nafteta, but her real name was Nafrini. She was a sex slave with numerous trials in her life, but she found her significance. Her Pharaoh was her soul mate and it is believed that he wrote this." (Chapter 24)

~The poem made it quite obvious, I'd say.


Next book hint:

"Talking about canines, did you guys hear about that guy who claimed he saw a werewolf close to Sabie?" (Chapter 17)

~Can you guess what came next?




3. Runners and the Stray (Part One and Two of Unnatural (R)evolution) - 25 August 2014

Previous book hint:

Joining the man across the coffee table, she placed her tumbler onto a newspaper with the headline: Clifton Corporations takes on new horizons! (Runners - Wounds)

~Sneaky one that...


Next book hint:

It was a late autumn afternoon at the Destructors' shared farmhouse, which was surrounded by the Lucretius plantation they used to cover their drug empire. (Runners - Making Friends)

~And who are the Lucretius family in my world?




4. Gold Collar - 12 October 2014

Previous book hint:

Valerius kept his eye on Prisca, pointing out a howling wolf in a cage. (II)

~Subtle, but the idea was there...


Next book hint:

"When Mira came to tell me I was to be married to one of my cousins in Pompeii..." (X)

~Can't give more than that, as it is a reveal-thing...





5. Silent Betrayal - 18 February 2015

Previous book hint:

Clearly a printed blouson dress with strappy heels and a chunky gold collar with curb links wasn't what she had in mind as being CEO-garb. (Chapter Seven)

~This one was a little hard...



Next book hint:

He was chatting away with the designer, Veronica, who had recently been made famous for designing a dress in honour of Mrs. Clifton, and somewhere in the store, two saleswomen were talking about clothes. (Chapter Three - Our First Date)

~Now this one is cool, because Veronica is actually first seen in Acquiesce (Book One of Sparks and Sparrows), meaning...




6. Requisite (Book Two of Sparks and Sparrows) - 21 June 2015

Previous book hint:

"On another subject...how is the negotiation going with Radebe Corporations? I want to be part of their board of directors; their revenue took one hell of a turn." (Chapter One - Sparks)

~What is cool about how Requisite and Silent Betrayal are connected, comes in when you read on and discover Malcom wants a property, but can't seem to get it. Now guess which company stole it from him...


Next book hint:

The MMA movie we are watching is quite interesting, but I can see she is bored by it. (Chapter Five - Sparks)

~I wonder which book would be next...




7. The Hunter and Little Fox - 3 July 2015

Previous and next book hint:

He met the sponsors and they brought a few other athletes along. A surfer named Terence Clifton, but Trevor recalled he was some bigshot from SA's brother, so the guy was most likely not that great and the other was a rugby player named Conrad Graham, who Trevor went to Monument High School to with. (Round Four)

~Now the Terence reference is obviously the previous one, but the Conrad Graham one is a reference to the book I'm planning to release next.



But there was another 'next book hint':

The waiter came to take her order and then she finally spoke, "He owns the most exclusive swingers club in SA. I only know because we got drunk together a while back and now he seems to think I'll be interested in the place." (Round Ten)

~As I was still deciding and working on multiple books, this was supposed to be the original reference, but my busy brain moved on to the first reference's story.




8. Just Like You (Like You Holiday Collection) - 30 October 2015

Previous book hint:

"You know the fighter, Trevor Dale?" Aryanna shook her head, "Well, he was friends with my youngest brother and he fought a boy over me." (Chapter Four)

~So a character in Just Like You (Like You Holiday Collection) connects it with The Hunter and Little Fox in a quite important manner.


Next book hint:

He used the time to flip through the airline's in-flight magazine and came across an article about an artist in Pittsburgh, who used a South African citizen as her focus and now has every billionaire buying her work. The woman in the portraits was quite remarkable, with the birthmark covering half of her face. (Chapter One)

~*add evil smirk here*




I hope this post has helped those who were wondering about the 'Easter Eggs' or even got someone new a little interested. I'll add to this post as we go or 'repost' this in a few months or as it grows.



See you on the other side!

Chevoque

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page