top of page

Book Review...MONSTER(The Outsider Chronicles Book 4) by Kayti Nika Raet


In a world full of flesh eating creatures, sometimes humans are the more terrifying monsters.

It's been three months since revolution swept through the city of Cherai and ousted Councilwoman King. The city now has a chance to recover from decades of injustice and oppression. With the help of Ben, Songhay, and the Gemini Gang, Niko works towards building a more egalitarian society.

But someone is murdering Slither hunters.

And coupled with the councilwoman's reappearance, all of Niko’s hard work balances on a precarious precipice - one wrong move and it will all be for naught.

As the number of bodies rise and tensions within the city increase, Niko is soon forced to make a difficult decision. And it could change everything.


The likes and dislikes:

~I don't care if there needs to be an order, I need to first freak out, yell at the screen and then silently sob at how amazing and quite realistic this book (all of them really) is! *punches a pillow, takes a breath and settles*

~I never judge a book by its cover, but this...LOVE IT!

~I have noted this in a previous review, but Raet doesn't go back and retells you what happened in the previous book, in a manner that would make me want to pull my hair out, she falls right back in and that it great!

~I'm a weirdo, so here goes...the rain, though deadly actually has a quite unique benefit I totally love. Being...the trash piling up, gets 'eaten' by the acid, which makes the tree hugger in me feel all warm and fuzzy.

~The small thing I tend to dislike of YA is that there always seems to be a love triangle (at least the few things I've read) and I just can't find myself to like those, but...eh, it sorted itself out >_< and I love Niko, so all is forgiven.

~Ari! Duc! I didn't realise how much I've missed them until reading them interact again. MALIK!!! *sobs*

~Ben and his notes make me swoon!

~Songhay's story...meeep!

~I so didn't cry my eyes out!

~The book is filled with several kinds of tensions and it makes the series as a whole damn near perfect when looking at the technicality of it all.

~I HATE THE COUNCILWOMAN! I'm gonna ask again...are there any takers for an organised group killing of this woman? Seriously, we can do a blood oath! I so hate her, which in her only benefit means she is a great antagonist.

~Crazy to realise in this world something as simple as a common cold has once more become life threatening.


Notes on characters:

Niko - I want one.

She grows even more than I would've expected. In Outsider, you saw it happen, but here with Monster, it is like the survivor, the outsider, the one who always does it herself, gave in, in the slightest sense and it made her stronger as a character. She truly is a chick that should be a role model for young ones.

Ben - I want one.

Songhay - I want one.

Councilwoman King - Have I mentioned that I REALLY don't like her?! Still a B####! *sharpens nails*

Roosevelt - Is my fave, she is as she said; 'cute, spunky and lovable'. Oh, and her love for peaches is just brilliant.

Zenith - He is really growing on me.


Diversity is defined by Raet's work and it honestly is one of the biggest reasons I'm sure she'll be entertaining us for years to come.


I WANT RISE!!!





See you on the other side!

Chevoque

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page