top of page

Book Review...Asian Persuasion: 4 Broke Girls by I.M. Wang


Living as a beautiful Asian American woman in Los Angeles can be challenging, especially when you’re searching for the love of your life.

Author I.M. Wang draws from her own personal experiences as a professional dancer, introducing us to Stella, the good girl who only wants to be a contemporary dancer but whose mother demands that she go to medical school; Michelle, a gold-digger who thinks sex is a commodity; Ming, the MAW (model, actress, whatever) doing anything to land her big role; Diane, the ice queen who enjoys delivering pain a little too much and Mr. Weekend, the successful, emotionally distant studio exec who never keeps a woman around long enough to learn her last name.

You will also meet some of LA’s usual suspects: Sleazy Hollywood Agents, Submissive Back-stabbing Hedge Fund Managers and Giraffes (you’ll have to read the book to find out what those are – wink).

Take a walk on the wild side in Asian Persuasion: 4 Broke Girls as our four heroines laugh, cry, scream and screw their way to the top in this heartfelt, sexy and honest look at life as an Asian American hottie in the City of Angels.


The likes and dislikes:

~Quote from the book I loved; "By the end of ballet class, Stella craved sugar. After contemporary jazz, Stella wanted to fuck..." Honestly, one of the best descriptions.

~Loved the humorous bits.

~Fell in love with Wang's writing style from the get go; it is honest, raw and relatable and the tone was a love at first sentence-type thing.

~Let me start this note, by stating that I LOVE food and Asian is my favourite, so the parts where food was mentioned in the restaurant...oh gawd! I was so hungry...and then some more if you catch my drift! :P

~The ladies' interactions make this book brilliantly witty! Michelle and Stella's interactions are the best.

~Things are always a little awkward after sex, but Stella proved that it could've been worse, like WAY worse!

~Room 209. Nuff said!

~Technicality wise; tenses weren't consistent, parts fell too quickly into the 'what happened next', the fantasy parts left a little confusion at times and progress was quite minimal with the repeated time frames. Still, nothing too big to distract from a great read.

~The different ladies and the order in which you are basically introduced to their personal sides, works quite well. You create your own personal opinion and then when getting to their side, your perception of them is thoroughly altered or proved correct.

~The imagination bits...Michelle won those hands down!

~The fundraiser Mr. Weekend attended...LOL!

~This book is a perfect example of why I always love reading the acknowledgements!



Notes on characters:

Stella - A good representation of how I think many woman feel when with someone so long and in the way she was with Leland (asshole #1), which makes her a likable and relatable character.

Michelle - She's the type of girl your mamma warned you not to become and to stay away from. Totally loved her and a real life her...where do I signup?

Ming - The 'FOB' is quite loveable and I am mostly curious about where her story is going next and with Charlie (asshole #2).

Diane - She is this uber bitch, which I thought when looking at the type of person she is, what she does and so on, didn't make much sense at times. Her treatment toward Tabby also didn't really make sense, when just regarding the situation at the centre. I might have missed something, but yeah, felt a titbit stereotypical with the 'she's just keeping her guard up', as she just comes forth as an antagonist I couldn't care for. JMO.

Mr. Weekend - Initially I thought he was 40's/50's the way the emphasis was placed on him being older, which left me a little disappointed when I discovered he was in fact not old...still undecided over how I feel about him.


If you like a diverse book with all the hotness you'd expect from an ER then this is seriously one you need to read, because this has become one of my all time favourite reads, even before I made it 10% in. I'm so excited for the next book, you might say I have Yellow Fever! All pun intended...





See you on the other side!

Chevoque

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page