top of page

My (unsightly) dilemma...


I'm gonna fall right into the deep end. Recently I got glasses...and the world is so fucking beautiful when you can see! Hehehe...so my glasses are permanent and I feared them more than spiders...or crickets...or crabs...or centipedes...or peanut beetles. Anyway, it wasn't that I couldn't see, I just couldn't see shit if something was beyond the whatever distance - I honestly don't know how blind I was - but the lady tested my eyes, blah blah blah and then I got the glasses and left.


A while later on the very day, as I wore these bitches I realised, the optometrist had given me nothing, no details of how to do this and that, and well...I worry about most things, just like my deda, who is a safety officer, so everything is overanalysed, because that's just me. So the list of Qs grew and I Googled them and thank H-Balls for internet! I feel educated. I'm talking cleaning and when to go do another test stuff - because sometimes your eyes can actually improve over time, according to some websites and ditching them would be nice.


Now don't get me wrong, I love them. I can play PS without squinting my ass off and being killed by slightly unshapely figures - overemphasising, but you get my point. And my reading speed increased like crazy. But the thing that had me in tears - no joke - was seeing the stars again. Like obviously they were there, but every night I take the dogs out to do their thing - several times - I look up at the sky. I could see the stars before, but they were blotchy splashy things, and the first night - with the glasses - I looked at the stars and I had a tear on my cheek, because yeah, I was as blind as a bat's ass apparently.


Anyway, it had me thinking how awesome glasses are, and how great they could work in a book for a character trait and so on. Avoid thinking CSI dude (especially you, Babi), but I'm referring to like; you can look pretty badass with when you do a 'talking...talking....talking, dramatic pause, pull off the glasses, continue (kinda CSI?). Or a 'I'm awkward when you speak to me like that' glasses adjustment.


Basically, these babies are awesome!


I was lucky to not have any adjustment symptoms (I suppose would be an appropriate word), like headaches and depth perceptions issues in the beginning. But I already have developed a habit of pulling them off, rubbing the bridge of my nose and putting the back on, or the Freezer (it is a person that will likely never read this but if they do, this isn't a person) as my father was mocking me, when he caught me doing it. It is like a peek-a-boo looking over the top of the frame type thing.

But see, there are pretty cool stuff to add something to characters.

Yet...all goods have evils. Like I keep forgetting the damn thing and when my eye itches, I punch the frame so hard, my eyes wanna pop out. Or like the time I was trying to take a selfie to show Babi...fucking glare everywhere! I get why pretty people always have their necks looking broken, they don't want their contacts to glare. Oh funny... And no, I have worn colour contacts before, shit is hard to put in, so I am not purposefully pushing anymore fingers in my eyes by switching to them! Thank you. And coffee, tea, soup, anything hot in this winter weather is a challenge! Have you seen me watching marathon Empire and OITNB, while eating soup and drinking coffee with glasses on? Hell, I missed half the season of both series!


The point is I can see properly again. I'm embracing it as I go and learning on the internet how to's. And I am SO writing a super sexy squeeza with glasses into a book!


What are your thoughts? Are you a 'Go Glasses!' or 'Go Away Glasses!' type?



See you on the other side!

Chevoque

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page